Skip to content

Hostgator Review 2019

Hostgator is one of the most popular and award winning web hosting company in the world founded in 22nd October, 2002 at Florida by Brent Oxley. Later, On June 21, 2012, Endurance International Group buy this company from Brent Oxley. Now it is fully owned & operated by EIG. Over 8M domain hosted on Hostgator. Recently they announced free domain name & SSL certificated with their annual hosting plan. Use below link to get up to 63% discount on web hosting.

Price Start at: $2.75/Month + Free Domain

Performance

4.6/5

Hostgator is a old hosting company and they offer 99.99% server uptime but in our test, we got 99.98% uptime. Hostgator server response time is average 835 ms.

Easy of Use

4.8/5

Hostgator offer cPanel control panel with their hosting package. So, you can control everything from one place. The setup process is easy & clean user interface.

Price

4.8/5

They offer flat 63% discount for new users which is the best deal for beginners but their renew price is quite high. They also offer a free domain with their annual hosting package.

Support

5/5

HostGator is especially focused on providing highly-available customer support at all hours of the day via phone, live chat, and email. Also, their site is full of tutorials.

Hostgator Pros

  • Free Website Migrations
  • 1 Click App Install
  • Free SSL Cetificate
  • Free Domain Name with annual plan
  • Unmetered Bandwidth
  • Unmetered Storage
  • 24/7/365 Support
  • 45 days money back guarantee

Hostgator Cons

  • High Renew Price
  • Lots of Extra Fees (Backup, Security, Etc)
  • High Response Time

Hostgator Review: Overview

Hostgator was founded in 2002 and one of the leading web hosting company in the world. They offer high performance web hosting at cheap price and a free domain name with their annual hosting plan. Over 8M domain hosted on Hostgator. We are also using Hostgator shared VPS hosting for our other domain.

In this detailed HostGator review, we’ll show you Hostgator hosting pros, cons, speed, uptime and more. They aren’t the best fit for everyone, but here’s what we’ve liked/disliked as a customer.

HostGator Performance

We are using Hostgator for our tiny project website for a long time. Here is the performance report of Hostgator shared hosting.

Uptime

In our test, we found hostgator provide 99.98% server uptime and average response time is 835 ms. Here is the last few months Hostgator server uptime report.

  • September 2019 – 100%
  • August 2019 – 99.99%
  • July 2019 – 100%
  • June 2019 – 99.99%
  • May 2019 – 99.95%
  • April 2019 – 99.98%
  • March 2019 – 99.99%
  • February 2019 – 100%
  • January 2019 – 100%

Server Response Time

Hostgator server response time is very worst. It is close to 835 ms. It is very high compare to Bluehost or Siteground. Below is the last month Hostgator server response time report.

Hostgator Server Response time

We used Pingdom & GTMatrix website speed testing tool to run the tests. Here are the results:

Note: Our test site was powered by WordPress using the default theme

Pingdom

GtMatrix

As you can see, our test site loaded in just under a second but the size of test page was only 85kb.

Easy of Use

Hostgator is very user friendly for beginners. They provide cPanel control panel with their hosting package. So, you can control everything from 1 place.

Their website builder is awesome. You can make a website within a few hours using their drug & drop website builder. It is free and cames with all hosting plan.

HostGator Hosting Plans & Features

As per customer demand, Hostgator offer various hosting. You can choose from shared hosting, VPS hosting, dedicated servers, cloud hosting, and WordPress hosting plans.

But in this article we are only look over Hostgator shared hosting.

It has 3 shared hosting plan i.e Hatchling, Baby & Business.

On Hatchling plan you can host only 1 domain but you can host unlimited domain on Baby & Business plan.

All shared hosting plan comes with unmetered bandwidth, unmetered storage, Free SSL Certificate, Gator website builder and a free domain name when you buy for 1 or more year.

One of the biggest advantage of Hostgator web hosting is they offer free website migration. If you are not happy with your current hosting provider and you want to transfer your website to Hostgator then simply contact with their support team within 30 days of purchase. They will transfer your full website within few hours.

45 Days Money Back Guarantee: HostGator is so confident in their service that’s why they provide 45 days no question asked money back guarantee. That means you can use them for over a full month and still get your purchase price back if you face issues.

This 45 days money back guarantee applicable on all Shared, Cloud, Managed WordPress, Reseller & VPS hosting.

Note: If your hosting plan includes a free domain name registration and you cancel within the first year, a non-refundable $17.99 USD domain fee (+ any applicable taxes) for the domain name will apply.

How do you choose the right shared hosting plan?

The Baby Plan is the most popular shared hosting plan, as it’s budget-friendly but allows you to host as many domains as you like.

Support

HostGator offers one of the best customer service in the industry. This includes 24/7/365 phone, live chat & ticket support as well as knowledge base.

Conclusion: Hostgator Review

Now, you have read our detailed HostGator review and you are probably thinking if HostGator is right for you?

For those looking for a simple, cheap shared hosting solution, Yes we think HostGator should be an option to consider for beginners.

In fact, big website like WPBeginner using their dedicated hosting.

If you’re looking for an affordable and reliable web hosting then HostGator is the best choice for you.

Hostgator Coupon

If you like & want to buy Hostgator hosting then use our exclusive Hostgator coupon code : WPHPROMO to get additional up to 60% discount on total price.

Hostgator Alternative

Here is the top 3 web hosting we’d like to recommend you as Hostgator alternative.

No comment yet, add your voice below!


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Overall Rating:
4.7/5

Hostgator Pros

  • Free Website Backup
  • 24/7 Customer Support
  • Free Site Migration
  • Free Domain Name
  • 45 Days Money Back

Hostgator Cons

  • High Renew Price
  • Lots of Extra Fees
  • High Response Time

Disclosure: We earn a commission if you make a purchase using our link

Welcome to WPHostPromoBest Hosting Offer

60 %Off

Active just for few hours. Use it now!